This year’s International Seafarers’ Welfare and Assistance Network (ISWAN) awards is now open for nominations for the following awards categories: Shipping Company of the Year Seafarer Centre of the Year Port of the Year Dr Dierk Lindemann Welfare Personality of the Year

The said nomination encourages the seafarers to voice out their thoughts about individuals, organizations and companies who offer the highest quality welfare services.

This awarding event is now on its 7th year of acknowledging the best in shipping when it comes to looking after people at sea. For this year, the awards are set to be better than ever, however the greatness of the set of awardees will kick off from the nominations.

The ISWAN award acknowledges excellence in seafarers’ welfare provision and those who are helping to raise standards across the industry. The nominations process is now open, and seafarers are being encouraged to have their say about the individuals, organisations and companies who offer the highest quality welfare services.

The deadline for nominations is 1st December 2017. Candidates will then be invited to submit an entry to a panel of judges made up of experts from the shipping industry. Winners will be flown to Geneva to attend the award ceremony which will be held at the International Labour Organisation (ILO) in April 2018. Speaking on the opening of the nominations, Roger Harris Executive Director of ISWAN said, “The International Seafarers’ Welfare Awards continue to recognise excellence in the care that seafarers receive from shipping companies, ports, welfare centres and dedicated individuals while working away from home”

He added, “The work of seafarers can be dangerous, exhausting and isolating, but there are exemplary companies and organisations who ensure seafarers have access to the best possible services and support. It is important we commend those candidates – nominated by seafarers – to encourage everyone across the industry to raise the profile of seafarers’ welfare.”

The 2018 awards are made possible by a generous grant from the ITF Seafarers’ Trust and the support of Inmarsat (Gold sponsor), the International Chamber of Shipping (Dr Dierk Lindemann Welfare Personality of the Year Award), Garrets International (Shipping Company of the Year Award), and Wrist Ship Supply (Seafarer Centre of the Year Award). The awards are also supported by the International Labour Organisation (ILO), The International Christian Maritime Association (ICMA) and The International Transport Workers Federation (ITF). Source: ISWAN

Thanks for rating this! Now tell the world how you feel - .
How does this post make you feel?
  • Excited
  • Fascinated
  • Amused
  • Bored
  • Sad
  • Angry